War With Yourself

5e854ace1c41ff3afe31ff66716e6d77

I’ve been reading this book called “Almost Anorexic” by Jennifer Thomas. It’s a book about people who struggle with eating disorders. Throughout the book, she discusses various people and their eating disorders and the ways they coped with them.There was one that I found really interesting. It was about writing a letter to your eating disorder. One was a letter about why you felt you needed Ed, and the other is asking Ed to leave you alone.

Here’s my attempt.

Dear ED,

Thanks so much for being there for me ALL the time. You and I’ve had a lot of ups and downs over the years, but you’ve never left. You’re a constant force in my life. You must be the best friend ever to stay with me this long. It feels great to know I always have someone fighting for me in my corner. You always give me pointers on how to be prettier and more pleasing for relationships. I don’t know what I’d do without you.

Yours truly,

Kairos

ED,

Actually, I DO know what I would do without you. Be a happier and free person. I don’t know who I am without you, but I’d really like to find out. We’ve had a long relationship, sadly. You’re like the abusive boyfriend that I crawl back to. You’re literally the worst friend…EVER. Telling me that I have to change my appearance in order to be considered pretty is truly sad and hurtful. I don’t like how you talk to me.

Please leave,

Kairos

Leave a Reply

