Curly Top

Here we go. So, this week is one important thing for me, and another important thing for everyone else, a.k.a. Valentine’s Day (insert eye roll here). Anyways, my favorite, actress of all time passed away at the age of 85. She lived an incredible life and showed the world that she could be more than a cute child star and a pretty face. Shirley Temple was an absolutely incredible woman. She did so much for society and lived through many tough times of her own.

Shirley temple. Precious face... reminds me of Sophie. @Beth J J Lowe  :)

 

I Shirley Temple

 

Shirley Temple

 

I remember watching all of her movies on VCR tape. I was so obsessed with all of the movies, costumes and songs. I can still recite some lines today. One of my favorite lines comes from “Bright Eyes” in 1934.

Shirley Temple

Shirley Temple

Shirley Temple - Bright Eyes (1934) http://miss-shirley-temple.tumblr.com/

Shirley Blake: Who’s that picture of?

James ‘Loop’ Merritt: Oh. A girl I used to know.

Shirley: She’s a pretty lady.

 ‘Loop’ : I used to think so. But it’s not enough to be pretty on the outside. You’ve got to be pretty on the inside, too.

Shirley: How can you be pretty in there?

 ‘Loop’: By thinking the right thoughts and doing the right things. And eating plenty of spinach!

I loved that line so much because it taught me something that day. It taught me that what you look like on the outside isn’t always what’s most important. You can’t neglect what your heart looks like. You have to be a compassionate, kind, and loving person to be considered pretty on the inside. Even if you aren’t as pretty on the outside as some others, you become prettier because of your pretty heart.

Speaking of hearts……isn’t that nutty holiday this Friday? Yes, yes it is. It’s not that I completely despise that holiday, because I think it’s nice to tell people you love them. But who picked that day and why? Like what? Who just up and decided that we needed a day to devote to love? Why couldn’t  we just decide ourselves when to show other people love? Who knows, but I feel like I’ve stepped out of a Charlie Brown cartoon when I say, “Valentine’s Day is too commercial”. (Of course they say Christmas, but I was hoping nobody would notice.) Anyways…Happy Valentines Day I guess!

Snoopy Happy Valentine's Day

Deer Me Valentine, I Like You

Leave a Reply

