Fear Foods

IMG_3043

Guess what I had the other day? WHATABURGER CHICKEN STRIPS! I haven’t eaten at Whataburger in at least 3 months, if not longer. I ate them. I actually let myself walk into a fast food restaurant, order a version of fried chicken, the gravy, the fries and the whole nine yards. I did it! I actually did it. Did I feel bad while I ate it? Maybe a little. However, it was almost kind of a joyous experience. For 5 minutes, I had control over what I was eating. I’m sort of proud of myself for this seemingly small accomplishment. Have I spent the last few days trying to reverse the effects that I think the chicken strips have left on my body, well yes, of course I have. I’m me for crying out loud. That’s not the point of eating the chicken strips though. The point of this is I ate them! Do you even have any remote idea of how hard it is for me to eat things  that are “unhealthy” for you? It’s extremely hard! Sometimes I sit and I think about the things that I let myself eat. I honestly eat pretty healthy. It’s a “good” thing I guess but it’s kind of crippling to me and doesn’t really make me happy. Having to go into a restaurant and scour the menu for the healthiest food on the menu isn’t a fun activity. It’s almost embarrassing. Very much so. I was by myself when I ate this meal, which did make it a little easier to consume.

The point is, I ate them. I ate the breaded strips and the french fries. I did it. I’m entirely too excited about this.

As we are in the middle of finals week (and I take a break from looking at Pinterest instead of studying) I’m kind of considering eating here again. I’m not sure if I will, but it’s the thought that counts in this situation, right?

IMG_3050

Leave a Reply

