Positivity Is Always Welcome

So yesterday, I was browsing Yahoo! like I usually do when I stumbled upon these 3 articles that interested me.

  1. Even Taylor Swift Isn’t Safe From Body Shaming-  https://www.yahoo.com/style/taylor-swift-looks-so-much-like-a-supermodel-that-102535446423.html
  2. Hilary Duff Tells Health Magazien She Was ‘Way Too Skinny’ As A Teen- http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/11/13/hilary-duff-skinny_n_6152136.html?ncid=txtlnkusaolp00000592
  3. Demi Lovato Slams Meghan Trainor After Eating Disorder Remarks- http://www.celebuzz.com/2014-11-13/megahn-trainor-demi-lovato-eating-disorders/

So, what do all of these articles have in common? The fact that they are stars either trying to promote positive body image or talk about the fact we should stop body shaming. Let’s start with the first.

  • The first is about poor Taylor Swift and how no matter how good she looks, somebody is always going to say that some part of her isn’t good enough. Some famous person decided to say that she ‘needed to get a booty’ like really? Who’s business is that? Pretty sure just Taylor’s. That’s how it is for all people though. There’s always someone who doesn’t think you’re good enough. There’s a quote from Taylor that I just read the other day that I think is fitting.

“If we continue to show young girls that they are being compared to other girls, we’re doing ourselves a huge disservice as a society,” Swift states. “I surround myself with smart, beautiful, passionate, driven, ambitious women. Other women who are killing it should motivate you, thrill you, challenge you and inspire you rather than threaten you and make you feel like you’re immediately being compared to them.”

shake it off performance - her outfit is like the 1989 version of the sparks fly dress and I love it

  • When I was a kid I used to watch Lizzie McGuire ALL THE TIME. I loved that show and I totally loved Hilary Duff. Even after her Disney Channel years I still continued/continue to love her. I never even thought anything of her weight. However, in her later year I did notice she was like superrrrr skinny. Probably not healthy. But I absolutely love what she said in this article.

“When I was 17, I weighed, like, 98 pounds. I was totally obsessed with everything I put in my mouth. I was way too skinny. Not cute. And my body wasn’t that healthy — my hands would cramp up a lot because I wasn’t getting the nutrition I needed. That constant pressure of wanting something different than I had? I regret that. I feel like there was way too much time spent thinking about that.”

Skinny Minnie

Best Dressed: Hilary Duff (September 2013)

  • Finally the Meghan Trainor incident. During an interview she was talking about her songs ‘All About That Bass’. At first she talked about how she grew up and how her parents fed her and then how once someone told her she would look better if she was 10 pounds lighter. Then she goes on to say something pretty offensive.

“I wasn’t strong enough to have an eating disorder. I tried to go anorexic for a good three hours. I ate ice and celery, but that’s not even anorexic. And I quit. I was like, ‘Ma, can you make me a sandwich? Like, immediately.'”

Enter Demi Lovato who went on this fairly epic twitter rant about how eating disorders aren’t choices and it’s NEVER about having the ‘strength’ to have anorexia or bulimia. It’s a REAL mental disorder and anyone who has is suffers tremendously.

Meghan Trainor "Close Your Eyes"

Speaking of Meghan Trainor, I actually stumbled upon this song by her the other day that I really really love. 

One thought on “Positivity Is Always Welcome

  1. Go Demi!! She’s so right. Eating disorders have nothing to do with “strength” unless you want to talk about the strength it takes to recover. Meghan Trainor is definitely a bit ignorant…

    Like

Leave a Reply

