Why I Gave Up Make-Up #BeYouAsIs

Every year I give up something for Lent. I’m not Catholic, but I’ve found great value in the practice of cutting something out of my life or adding something into it for 40 days. Lent started on Febulary 10th, but I was on a plane home from Hawaii that day, and with the launch of Beating 50 Percent, and filming for Little People Big World, I’ve just now got around to writing this post! Please forgive my tardiness. I’ve been practicing Lent since I was a freshman in high school. My best friend Ellen’s family practiced it, and that’s when I first found out what it even was.  Since then, each year my best friend and I come together and observe the season of lent. We have often done similar things, and it’s great to know that she is holding me accountable, and I her. If you don’t know what Lent is, Lent is a solemn religious observance in the liturgical calendar of many Christian denominations that begins on Ash Wednesday and covers a period of approximately six weeks before Easter Sunday. This year Lent began on Wednesday February 18th, and will end on Thursday April 2nd. Over the years I’ve given up chocolate, eating after 9 p.m., social media, my hair curler/straightener, make-up, and buying clothes. When I was in college, I decided to add something in place of the thing given up. The first time I did this I was a junior in college. I gave of make-up, and in addition added what I called, “prayer and praise.” Basically, I wrote one thank you note each day to someone that had impacted my life for better, and I committed to praying for that person throughout that day. It blessed me to speak words of encouragement and thanksgiving to my loved ones. During my senior year in college, I took it one step further.  I didn’t give anything up, but I added soemthing that I did everyday. I called it, “Lent Letter’s.” The idea was to send someone a prayer letter (yes a physical letter) every day for 40 days. Some of you may remember this, or maybe I even wrote you a letter because I posted to my IG stating that the first 40 people to e-mail me their mailing address would receive a prayer letter at some point during Lent!   I was in shock as I read some of the addresses, Canada, New York,…

Source: Why I Gave Up Make-Up #BeYouAsIs

Leave a Reply

