Move Over, KFC!

Move over KFC and Whataburger, my chicken strips could be coming for you! Totally kidding, not even kind of close, but still good. My homemade chicken strips adventure was a success!!! I used a recipe from Skinny Ms that was really for chicken nuggets but I was too lazy to cut up chicken so I just bought tenders. These were super easy to make though! http://skinnyms.com/skinny-chicken-nuggets

20160222_172839
The “before”

The “after”. They really don’t look much different do they?

Of course, I had to make my sweet potato fries because I’m completely obsessed with sweet potatoes!! Anyone else have a love for sweet potatoes? All in all, I’m very proud of myself for this 🙂

Wednesday Reads

Demolishing The “Fat Makes You Fat” Myth- Paleo Leap http://paleoleap.com/demolishing-fat-makes-fat-myth/

Part of what started my eating disorder initially was the fact that I am scared, no terrified, complete petrified of “fat” in my food. When I read nutrition facts, I go straight to the “fat” content. So when I’ve been at my lowest points, I’ve basically been eating no fat. When I met with the nutritionist she reassured me that a body does need fat from foods and it’s NOT all bad!!!! You need grams of fat in your diet! This has been a huge roadblock and hurdle for me to tackle because I’m so used to not eating it, avoiding it or feeling guilty about consuming it. I decided maybe I needed to read it from an article that “fat” wasn’t bad, so there is the article I read and keeps the majority of my anxiety over this at bay (there is still a TON).

New Campaign Reveals The Truth About Beauty- Kelsey Miller; Refinery 29; Project Heal http://www.refinery29.com/2016/02/103609/eating-disorders-awareness-week-project-heal#slide

This is eating disorder awareness week as most of you know and I just thought this article from Project Heal was spectacular.  I encourage you to think about yourself when it talks about the hashtags #WhatMakesMeBeautiful. What makes you beautiful? You can’t be wrong!!!! It’s your own opinion of yourself and how you feel about Y-O-U. I love what all of the women in the slideshow had to say about themselves, it was uplifting to see that loving yourself and liking parts of yourself isn’t frowned upon, but in fact encouraged! I am challenging myself with this same question of what makes me beautiful.

Question: Does anybody know what Pixar’s movie The Good Dinosaur is about? Hahahaha…I’m a 21 year old child.

Leave a Reply

