Oh Joy, the VS Fashion Show is Here….

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/11/13/victorias-secret-models_n_4266776.html  (Body Makeup)

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/11/13/victorias-secret-casting_n_4266647.html  (VS Fashion Show Casting)

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/11/07/victorias-secret-angel-diet_n_1079315.html  (VS Diet)

http://www.blogilates.com/diet-2/the-victorias-secret-model-diet (Diet)

Image

Oh joy. It’s my favorite time of year, the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show is here. Ugh. Blah. (Insert other annoyed words here.) I really do not care. Honestly, the whole thing just kind of upsets me. I don’t want to turn on the TV and see women walking around in their bra and underwear just kind of having everything exposed. I just don’t see why it appeals to people to see women showing “fashion” in that manner. Is it the media, women, men, or the world that makes everyone feel fine about this broadcast? I know, I know, if I don’t like it, I don’t have to watch it. Please spare me the lecture. I’m well aware of this. 

My whole problem with this show is what it’s message is to both young girls and women. Why is being so skinny that we see all the stomach muscles or the occasional rib attractive? Why is this deemed beautiful? What makes those women any more desirable than those women who are a normal weight and don’t start to starve themselves 9 days before they have a big event? On that note, who even wants to not eat solids or drink anything?! That just sounds crazy to me. 

For me, being as I have my own eating disorder, this show represents a huge Ed to me. As I see the models walk down the runway, all I can hear is Ed screaming at me. He says that those women are something that I will never be able to attain. Nothing but negative words, and negative images. Basically, I’m pretty against having women walk down the runway in their underwear and having the rest of the women in the world compared to them. Those are a specific group of women, and most women in the world don’t actually look like that. I just feel like its unfair for women to be compared to that of models. Everything in the world revolves around what we look like. We think that if we look a certain way, dress a particular way, wear are hair in the current style, or wear the smallest size in the store possible, that all of that makes a prettier or have more desire to be wanted. I just think that’s totally wrong. We are more than a size and hairstyle. We are actual people. 

Basically, screw you media, screw you modeling industry, screw you clothing sizes, and screw you ED!

 

Image

Leave a comment